Greeting guests as they enter the mansion are the statues of Lydie Marland and George Marland, the adopted children of E.W. and Virginia Marland. Lydie later became Mr. Marland's second wife.
The statues were sculpted of French limestone by Jo Davidson, E. W. Marland's favorite sculptor.
Lydie's statue originally stood on the north vista. Destroyed and buried in 1953, the statue was found in pieces in 1990, restored and returned to the mansion in 1992. Replicas of the two statues now stand in their original garden locations.
For more on this story, "Explore the History".
From the hand set stone tile to the muraled walnut ceilings painted by Vincent Maragliotti, the entrance sets the mood of elegance for the oil baron's mansion. From the brass and iron devil-headed wall sconces to the angels above the doors, the entry piques the interest of all who enter.